SAP Gateway

Intermediaries between Web and SAP Application

SAP Gateway – due to the strong growth in the field of mobile devices, there is an increasing need for suitable applications for this.

There are numerous tools, techniques and standards on the market for the development of so-called apps. SAP Gateway was developed to provide developers with a suitable interface for communication with the SAP system.

The SAP Gateway serves as a kind of intermediary between the new web technologies and the classic SAP systems

With the SAP Gateway, data from ABAP-based SAP backend systems can be published to the outside world. The goal is to provide consumers with stable access points to the SAP system. Typical consumers for this data are websites, native mobile apps, and web apps. In addition, customers are Javascript applications, such as SAP Fiori and SAP UI5, as well as applications from cloud platforms.

Until now, RFC-based technologies have mostly been used in SAP development. With SAP Gateway, a new way of communicating takes place. Via so-called RESTful services combined with the OData protocol.


SAP Gateway

SAP Gateway

SAP Gateway and OData

SAP Gateway provides a development environment for web services to use the data from the SAP backend system, such as SAP Business Suite or SAP S/HANA.

FOR communication between the front end and the backend, SAP relies on the OData standard. It was originally developed by Microsoft and has become the industry standard. All major software manufacturers such as Microsoft, SAP, IBM are constantly developing this standard together.

The OData protocol has become the standard for data exchange on the World Wide Web. This standard supports full CRUDQ functionality. The letters C – R – U – D – Q stand for Create, Read, Update, Delete and Query. For this reason, this protocol is also known as the Open Data Base Connector (ODBC) for the Internet. It is based on the Entity Data model, which shows the objects and their relationships with each other. This data is represented to the outside world in the Formats Java Script Object Notation (JSON) and ATOM/XML.

Why OData?

OData is based on the Representational State Transfer (REST) protocol and offers the following benefits:

  • Easy database-like access to backend data over HTTP
  • OData is the industry standard, currently in the version OData V4
  • The protocol is supported by the main platforms
  • The standard has a broad acceptance among the renowned software manufacturers

What are the functions of SAP Gateway?

When you install SAP Gateway, you have an infrastructure to develop and generate services. With SAP Gateway, you get an optimal development environment for web services. Services can also be created without any programming effort. For the service implementation, you can use RFC, BAPI and search tools and CDS views.

The architecture of SAP Gateway

SAP Gateway 2.0 technically happens on ABAP add-ons that are deployed on the SAP Netveawer Stack. Starting with SAP Netveawer 7.40, the software components are delivered with the SAP base. The software components are called SAP _ GWFND.

SAP Gateway Installation

There are three different ways to install . The central hub deployment, the integrated deployment or the SAP cloud platform OData Provisioning.


Do you have questions about SAP Gatway or would you like an SAP System Demo?
We would be happy to advise you in a personal conversation.

Need support or have questions?

Contact us. We are happy to advise you!


Products SAP Mail – MailCenter

SAP Mail


Products SAP Monitoring – HotM

SAP Monitoring


More blog posts

SAP Gateway

Vermittler zwischen Web uns SAP Anwendung

SAP Gateway – durch das starke Wachstum im Bereich der mobilen Endgeräte besteht ein immer größerer Bedarf an geeigneten Applikationen hierfür.

Für die Entwicklung von sogenannten Apps gibt es zahlreiche Tools, Techniken und Standards am Markt. Um Entwicklern eine geeignete Schnittstelle für die Kommunikation mit dem SAP System zur Verfügung zu stellen, wurde SAP Gateway entwickelt.

Das SAP Gateway dient quasi als Vermittler zwischen den neuen Webtechnologien und den klassischen SAP Systemen

Mit dem SAP Gateway können Daten aus ABAP basierten SAP Backend-Systemen nach außen veröffentlicht werden. Das Ziel besteht darin, den Konsumenten der Daten stabile Zugriffspunkte auf das SAP System zu bieten. Typische Konsumenten für diese Daten sind Websites, native Mobile Apps, und Web Apps. Außerdem sind Abnehmer Javascript Anwendungen, wie zum Beispiel bei SAP Fiori und SAP UI5 und auch Anwendungen von Cloud Plattformen.

Bisher wurden in der SAP Entwicklung meistens RFC basierte Technologien eingesetzt. Mit SAP Gateway findet eine neue Art der Kommunikation statt. Über sogenannte RESTful Services kombiniert mit dem OData Protokoll.


SAP Gateway

SAP Gateway

SAP Gateway und OData

Mit SAP Gateway wird eine Entwicklungsumgebung für Web Services zur Verfügung gestellt, um die Daten aus dem SAP Backend System, wie zum Beispiel SAP Business Suite oder SAP S/HANA zu nutzen.

Für die Kommunikation zwischen Frontend und Backend setzt die SAP dabei auf den OData Standard. Dieser wurde ursprünglich von Microsoft entwickelt und hat sich inzwischen zum Industriestandard entwickelt. Alle großen Softwarehersteller wie Microsoft, SAP, IBM sind permanent dabei, gemeinsam diesen Standard weiterzuentwickeln.

Das OData Protokoll ist inzwischen der Standard für den Datenaustausch im World Wide Web. Dieser Standard unterstützt die volle CRUDQ Funktionalität. Dabei stehen die Buchstaben C – R – U – D – Q für Create, Read, Update, Delete und Query. Aus diesem Grund wird dieses Protokoll auch als Open Data Base Connector (ODBC) für das Internet bezeichnet. Er basiert auf dem Entity Data Modell, mit dem die Objekte und deren Beziehungen untereinander dargestellt werden. Diese Daten werden in den Formaten Java Skript Object Notation (JSON) sowie ATOM/XML nach außen repräsentiert.

Warum OData?

OData basiert auf dem REST Protokoll (Representational State Transfer) und bietet folgende Vorteile:

  • Einfacher datenbank#hnlicher Zugriff auf Backend Daten über HTTP
  • OData ist der Industrie Standard, aktuell in der Version OData V4
  • Das Protokoll wird von den wichtigsten Plattformen unterstützt
  • Der Standard hat eine breite Akzeptanz bei den renommierten Softwareherstellern

Welche Funktionen hat SAP Gateway?

Wenn sie SAP Gateway installieren, haben Sie eine Infrastruktur um Services zu entwickeln und zu generieren. Sie erhalten mit SAP Gateway eine optimale Entwicklungsumgebung für Web Services. Es können Services auch ganz ohne Programmieraufwand erstellt werden. Für die Service Implementierung können Sie RFC, BAPI und Suchhilfen und CDS Views benutzen.

Die Architektur von SAP Gateway

SAP Gateway 2.0 passiert technisch auf ABAP Add-Ons, die auf dem SAP Netveawer Stack bereitgestellt werden. Ab SAP Netveawer 7.40 werden die Software Komponenten mit der SAP Basis ausgeliefert. Die Softwarekomponenten heißt SAP _ GWFND.

SAP Gateway Installation

Für die Installation von haben Sie drei verschiedene Möglichkeiten. Das zentrale Hub Deployment, das integrierte Deployment oder das SAP Cloud Plattform OData Provisioning.


Sie haben Fragen zu SAP Gatway oder möchten eine SAP System Demo?
Gerne beraten wir Sie in einem persönlichen Gespräch.

Sie benötigen Unterstützung oder haben Fragen?

Kontaktieren Sie uns. Wir beraten Sie gerne!


Produkte SAP Mail – MailCenter

SAP Mail


Produkte SAP Monitoring – HotM

SAP Monitoring


Weitere Blogbeiträge
Elektronische Rechnung
sap xrechnung
SAP Formular
sap adobe lifecycle designer
sap adobe lifecycle designer