Faq

Frequently asked questions about MailCenter and e-mail

Here you will find frequently asked questions about topics such as introduction to MailCenter, business documents by e-mail, e-mail encryption. If you have any questions about these or other topics, please contact us. We look forward to seeing you.

What are the costs of sending my documents by post?

Determination of annual costs

Determine the cost of sending your SAP documents by post, such as ordering, quotation, order, packing slip, invoice, and so on.

According to one study, the cost of postal mail per letter is approximately EUR 3.90. (Source: Deutsche Bank Research)

Cost factors include:

  • Porto
  • Working time (print, envelop, post, etc.)
  • Consumables (stationery, envelopes, printer toner)
  • Devices (printer, franking machine, envelop machine)

Discover your savings potential.

Formatting emails from SAP - your company’s business card

No compromises in design

E-mails, e-mail signatures and disclaimers are the electronic business cards of a company. If they are not uniform and designed in accordance with the corporate design guidelines, this has a negative impact on the external appearance of your company.

In the absence of the mandatory information in the signature in the commercial correspondence, such as the registry court or the company manager, this may even lead to a fine imposed by the registry court.

Email in corporate design:
With the MailCenter, you get all the necessary functions to design emails from SAP according to your corporate design guidelines. This includes layout design over HTML, the use of different fonts and colors, and the insertion of your logo. With your own text modules for subject, mailbody and signature, you can also safely meet the requirements for formal requirements and mandatory information imposed by the legislator.

Image, recognition and promotion:
Compliance with the Corperate design also in email traffic from SAP serves clear goals. The email must look consistent and professional. At the same time, the legal requirements must be met. The uniform external presentation in business communication with customers and suppliers improves your image, increases the recognition factor and thus promotes sales.

Increase productivity with effective mailing from SAP ERP

Increase productivity with SAP business process software via e-mail – MailCenter

The MailCenter is a comprehensive software package to organize emails and contact information within SAP. Users benefit from efficient process processing, clear management of correspondence, master data maintenance and easy operation. This increases productivity and is fun.

The SAP add-on is easy and quick to implement and requires no additional hardware.

Turn your SAP into a digital post office.

How long does it take to introduce the MailCenter?

From project start to go-live

Due to the largely standardized procedure for the introduction of the MailCenter, it usually takes less than 6 weeks between the start of the project and the Go-Live.

– Questionnaire –
To accommodate the customer’s requirements, a questionnaire is sent to the client at the beginning of the project. This will be completed by the client and sent back to the project manager.

– Implementation –
The installation is based on the feedback in the questionnaire. Based on this feedback, the system settings for the delivered solution are exemplified for an organizational unit. A first functional test is carried out with the help of test data provided by the client. Further organizational units can be further configured by the customer after the handover to the client.

– Function instruction and handover –
After implementation of the solution, a function instruction and a handover to the client are carried out. After the handover, the customer can configure other sales organizations and shipping points for the respective applications independently.

– Accompaniment Test & Go-Live –
During the test phase of the client, as well as at the time of the Go-Live, the mes project manager is always available for inquiries.

– Documentation
The final project is the extensive documentation of the implementation.

Success Story MailCenter

MailCenter for Sortimo International GmbH

Sortimo International GmbH has been successfully developing, manufacturing and selling tailor-made vehicle setup solutions for almost four decades.

Today’s product portfolio includes industry-specific furnishing solutions for companies in commerce, crafts and industry. Sortimo International is represented in Germany with nine branches and more than 30 Sortimo stations as well as twelve international subsidiaries in the core markets of Europe, the USA and Asia.

“Sortimo’s success depends crucially on fast and efficient communication between our business partners and our employees.” Walter Fischer, General Manager CCC – customer competence center, Sortimo International

Read more the Successstory here …

Go-Live within one week - MailCenter for SAP ERP

MailCenter implemented in record time at think about IT GmbH

“Less than a week passed from the order to go-live. Thanks to the well-organized, structured procedure, the implementation was simple and fast,” reports Peter Rados, Managing Director of think about IT GmbH.

He explains: “Using a questionnaire for implementation, our requirements were specifically queried. The actual Customizing took less than a day. After a brief briefing by the staff, nothing stood in the way of the Go-Live. The SAP Add-on MailCenter of munich enterprise software is already an integral part of our day-to-day business. The processes for quotations, order confirmations and orders have become much easier. Invoices are now also sent by e-mail. Overall, the MailCenter is an investment that is worthwhile for us,” says Rados.
This is how it was before the introduction of the MailCenter

In the past, it was expensive at think about IT to send business documents from the SAP system to business partners by e-mail. The documents were initially awkwardly stored in the file system before they could then be processed and sent via Outlook. Invoices used to be sent by mail rather than by e-mail.
All this was cumbersome, time-consuming and costly. In order to save process and postage costs, a corresponding add-on for sending e-mail from SAP had to be produced. The munich enterprise software with the mail solution MailCenter was found.

SMTP - Prerequisite Mail Server and Office 365

SMTP Configuration

Starting with SAP Web Application Server 6.10, the SMTP protocol is supported directly by the SAP system. The exchange of e-mails between the SAP system and any SMTP-enabled mail server is thus possible without additional external components. SAP transfers the e-mails in the output to a single mail server. Do you manage your mailboxes in an Office 365 Exchange account? To do this, you need SAP Basis 7.31 Support Package 6 and 7.21 Kernel (see Note 1747180 – SMTP via TLS and SMTP authentication). However, there is also a workaround for installing and configuring the Internet Information Server (IIS) for relaying with Office 365.

If you are working with inbound processing, the e-mail can be received from any number of mail servers.

Generic Object Services (GOS) - Services to the Object

Gos

The services to the object provide generic, module non-specific functions of a shortcut list. These generic object services provide functionality that is available in different SAP applications. The functions are called and applied the same everywhere, so that the learning effort for the end users is kept low.

This simplifies and uniformly expands the application transaction menu. The services contain generally usable functions, such as creating attachments to the object, creating notes.

Generic Object Services are thus a pure navigation service that provides access to other basic services, such as SAPOffice (SOFF), ArchiveLink.

Business Document Service (BDS) and Business Document Navigator (BDN)

What is BDS and BDN?

The Business Document Service (BDS) is a common and easy-to-integrate document management functionality for various applications. The BDS already provides basic services for administration. The Business Document Navigator (BDN) is the user interface (UI) for the BDS.

BDS / BDN is a kind of hybrid solution that combines both ArchiveLink and KPro functions.

It was originally intended as an easy-to-integrate document management functionality for the various SAP applications as well as an extension to ArchivLink.

There is no start transaction for the BDN/BDS. Access is expected to be through integration into other applications or modules.

HTML Mails - Embed or link images to signatures?

For customers who value corporate design, the question arises as to how images should be embedded in the e-mail. This is usually an issue in the signature.

Email Signature – Embed images

When an image is embedded in the email, an internal embedded element is created. Every now and then, spam filters are triggered by this technique, the e-mails are displayed by mistake with attachments, or the e-mail is displayed without an image. That is not so nice, of course.

Email Signature – Link Images

If you link the image in the e-mail signature, it is stored on a web server. Technically, the image is not part of the email signature. As far as visual representation is concerned, the recipient of the email should not notice any difference. Of course, it is important that this URL is always valid. Otherwise, the receiver sees a red cross at this point.

In principle, we recommend linking images to a URL and not embedding them in the email.

Can e-mail be encrypted?

Emails can be signed and encrypted using the S/MIME standard. This is possible from SAP BASIS 7.31 SP2. At lower release levels, secured messages can be sent through the Secure E-mail proxy. Alternatively, encryption can be done via the SMTP server.

  • MailCenter
  • SAP Mail Software
  • MailCenter Outlook
  • SAP Outlook Integration Software
  • Archive Add-in
  • SAP Mail Archiving Software
  • SMS Add-in
  • SMS Short Messages from SAP

FAQ

Häufige Fragen zum MailCenter und dem Thema E-Mail

Hier finden Sie häufig gestellte Fragen zu den Themen wie Einführung MailCenter, Geschäftsdokumente per E-Mail, E-Mail Verschlüsselung. Sollten Sie Fragen zu diesen oder anderen Themen haben, dann kontaktieren Sie uns. Wir freuen uns auf Sie.

Welche Kosten entstehen, wenn ich meine Dokumente per Post senden?

Ermittlung der jährlichen Kosten

Ermitteln Sie die Kosten für den postalischen Versand Ihrer SAP Dokumente wie z. B. Bestellung, Angebot, Auftrag, Lieferschein, Rechnung etc.

Laut einer Studie belaufen sich die Kosten für den postalischen Versand je Brief auf ca. 3,90 EUR. (Quelle: Deutsche Bank Research)

Kostenfaktoren sind u. a. :

  • Porto
  • Arbeitszeit (ausdrucken, kuvertieren, frankieren, etc.)
  • Verbrauchsmaterialien (Briefpapier, Briefhüllen, Druckertoner)
  • Geräte (Drucker, Frankiermaschine, Kuvertiermaschine)

Entdecken Sie Ihr Sparpotential.

Formatierung E-Mails aus SAP - die Visitenkarte Ihres Unternehmens

Keine Kompromisse bei der Gestaltung

E-Mails, E-Mail-Signaturen und Disclaimer sind die elektronischen Visitenkarten einer Firma. Sind diese nicht einheitlich und gemäß den Corporate-Design-Richtlinien gestaltet, wirkt sich das negativ auf die Außendarstellung Ihres Unternehmens aus.

Fehlen im kaufmännischen Schriftverkehr in der Signatur die Pflichtangaben, wie z. B. das Registergericht oder der/die Gesellschaftsverantwortliche/n, kann das sogar zu einer Ordnungsstrafe durch das Registergericht führen.

E-Mail im Corporate Design:
Mit dem MailCenter erhalten Sie alle notwendigen Funktionen, um E-Mails aus SAP gemäß Ihren Corporate Design Richtlinien zu gestalten. Dazu gehören die Layoutgestaltung über HTML, die Verwendung von unterschiedlichen Schriften und Farben bis hin zur Einfügung Ihres Logos. Mit eigenen Textbausteinen für Betreff, Mailbody und Signatur können Sie auch die vom Gesetzgeber auferlegten Anforderungen an Formvorschriften und Pflichtangaben sicher erfüllen.

Image, Wiedererkennung und Absatzförderung:
Die Einhaltung des Corperate Design auch im E-Mail Verkehr aus SAP dient klaren Ziele. Die E-Mail muss einheitlich und professionell aussehen. Gleichzeitig müssen die gesetzlichen Anforderungen erfüllt werden. Die einheitliche Außendarstellung in der Geschäftskommunikation mit Kunden und Lieferanten verbessert Ihr Image, erhöht den Wiedererkennungsfaktor und fördert damit den Absatz.

Produktivität steigern mit effektiven Mailversand aus SAP ERP

Produktivitätssteigerung mit der Software für SAP Geschäftsprozesse per E-Mail – MailCenter

Das MailCenter ist ein umfangreiches Softwarepaket, um E-Mails und Kontaktdaten innerhalb von SAP zu organisieren. Die Anwender profitieren von der effizienten Vorgangsbearbeitung, der übersichtlichen Verwaltung der Korrespondenz, der Stammdatenpflege und der einfachen Bedienung. Das steigert die Produktivität und macht Spaß.

Das SAP Add-on ist einfach und schnell zu implementieren und benötigt keine weitere Hardware.

Machen Sie Ihr SAP zur digitalen Poststelle.

Wie lange dauert die Einführung des MailCenters?

Vom Projektstart bis zum Go-Live

Durch die weitestgehend standardisierte Vorgehensweise bei der Einführung des MailCenters, vergehen zwischen dem Projektstart und dem Go-Live in der Regel weniger als 6 Wochen.

– Fragenkatalog –
Zur Aufnahme der Kundenanforderungen wird zu Projektbeginn ein Fragenkatalog an den Auftraggeber gesendet. Dieser wird vom Auftraggeber ausgefüllt und an den Projektleiter zurückgesendet.

– Implementierung –
Die Installation erfolgt auf Basis der Rückmeldungen im Fragenkatalog. Anhand dieser Rückmeldungen erfolgen die Systemeinstellungen zur ausgelieferten Lösung exemplarisch für eine Organisationseinheit. Ein erster Funktionstest wird mit Hilfe von Testdaten durchgeführt, die der Auftraggeber zur Verfügung stellt. Weitere Organisationseinheiten können nach der Übergabe an den Auftraggeber von diesem selbständig weiter konfiguriert werden.

– Funktionseinweisung und Übergabe –
Nach Implementierung der Lösung erfolgen eine Funktionseinweisung sowie eine Übergabe an den Auftraggeber. Nach erfolgter Übergabe kann der Auftraggeber weitere Verkaufsorganisationen und Versandstellen zu den jeweiligen Applikationen selbständig konfigurieren.

– Begleitung Test & Go-Live –
Während der Testphase des Auftraggebers, sowie zum Zeitpunkt des Go-Live, steht der mes Projektleiter jederzeit für Rückfragen zur Verfügung.

– Dokumentation-
Abschluss des Projektes bildet die umfangreiche Dokumentation der Implementierung.

Success Story MailCenter

MailCenter für Sortimo International GmbH

Seit nahezu vier Jahrzehnten entwickelt, fertigt und verkauft die Sortimo International GmbH sehr erfolgreich maßgeschneiderte Fahrzeugeinrichtungslösungen.

Das heutige Produktportfolio umfasst branchengerechte Einrichtungslösungen für Unternehmen aus Handel, Handwerk und Industrie. Sortimo International ist in Deutschland mit neun Niederlassungen und mehr als 30 Sortimo Stationen sowie zwölf internationalen Tochtergesellschaften in den Kernmärkten Europas, den USA und Asien vertreten.

„Der Erfolg von Sortimo hängt entscheidend von einer schnellen und effizienten Kommunikation zwischen unseren Geschäftspartner und unseren Mitarbeitern ab.“ Walter Fischer, Gesamtleitung CCC – customer competence center, Sortimo International

Hier die Successstory weiterlesen …

Go-Live innerhalb einer Woche - MailCenter für SAP ERP

MailCenter in Rekordzeit bei think about IT GmbH implementiert

„Von der Auftragserteilung bis zum Go-Live verging weniger als eine Woche. Durch die gut organisierte, strukturierte Vorgehensweise war die Implementierung einfach und schnell“ berichtet Peter Rados, Geschäftsführer der think about IT GmbH.

Er erläutert: „Mittels eines Fragebogens zur Implementierung wurden unsere Anforderungen zielgerichtet abgefragt. Das eigentliche Customizing dauerte weniger als einen Tag. Nach einer kurzen Einweisung der Mitarbeiter stand dem Go-Live nichts mehr im Wege. Das SAP Add-on MailCenter der munich enterprise software ist bereits jetzt nicht mehr aus unserm Tagesgeschäft wegzudenken. Die Prozesse bei Angeboten, Auftragsbestätigungen und Bestellungen sind deutlich einfacher geworden. Auch Rechnungen werden jetzt per E-Mail versendet. Insgesamt ist das MailCenter eine Investition, die sich für uns lohnt“, so Rados.
So ware es vor der Einführung des MailCenters

Früher war es bei think about IT aufwendig, Geschäftsdokumente aus dem SAP System per Mail an die Geschäftspartner zu versenden. Die Dokumente wurden zunächst umständlich im Filesystem gespeichert, bevor Sie anschließend per Outlook weiterbearbeitet und versendet werden konnten. Rechnungen wurden früher überhaupt nicht per Mail, sondern per Post versendet.
Das alles war umständlich, zeit- und kostenintensiv. Um Prozess- und Portokosten zu sparen musste ein entsprechendes Add-on für den E-Mail-Versand aus SAP her. Fündig wurde man bei der munich enterprise software mit der Maillösung MailCenter.

SMTP - Voraussetzung Mail-Server und Office 365

Konfiguration SMTP

Ab SAP Web Application Server 6.10 wird das SMTP Protokoll direkt vom SAP-System unterstützt. Der Austausch von E-Mails zwischen dem SAP-System und jedem SMTP-fähigen Mail-Server ist damit ohne zusätzliche externe Komponenten möglich. SAP übergibt die E-Mails im Ausgang an einen einzelnen Mail-Server. Verwalten Sie Ihre Postfächer in einem Office 365 Exchange Account? Hierzu benötigen Sie SAP Basis 7.31 Support Package 6 und 7.21 Kernel (s. Hinweis 1747180 – SMTP über TLS und SMTP Authentifizierung ). Allerdings gibt es hierfür auch einen Workaround über installieren und konfigurieren des Internet Information Server (IIS) für Relay mit Office 365.

Arbeiten Sie mit der Eingangsverarbeitung, können die E-Mails von einer beliebigen Anzahl von Mail-Servern empfangen werden.

Generic Object Services (GOS) - Dienste zum Objekt

GOS

Die Dienste zum Objekt stellen generische, Modul unspezifische Funktionen einer Shortcut List. Diese generischen Objektdienste bieten Funktionen, die in unterschiedlichen SAP-Anwendungen zur Verfügung stehen. Die Funktionen werden überall gleich aufgerufen und angewendet, sodass der Lernaufwand für die Endanwender gering bleibt.

Das Menü der Anwendungstransaktionen wird dadurch vereinfacht und einheitlich erweitert. Die Dienste enthalten allgemein nutzbare Funktionen, wie z. B. Anlagen zum Objekt anlegen, Notizen anlegen.

Die Generic Object Services sind damit ein reiner Navigations-Dienst, über den der Zugang zu weiteren Basis-Services ermöglicht wird, wie z. B. SAPOffice (SOFF), ArchiveLink.

Business Document Service (BDS) und Business Document Navigator (BDN)

Was ist BDS und BDN?

Der Business Document Service (BDS) ist eine allgemeine und einfach integrierbare Dokumentenverwaltungsfunktionalität für verschiedene Anwendungen. Dabei stellt der BDS Basis-Services zur Verwaltung bereits. Der Business Document Navigator (BDN) ist das Userinterface (UI) zum BDS.

BDS / BDN ist eine Art Hybrid Lösung, die sowohl ArchiveLink als auch KPro Funktionen miteinander verbindet.

Es war ursprünglich als einfach integrierbare Dokumentenverwaltungsfunktionalität für die unterschiedlichen SAP Anwendungen sowie als Erweiterung zu ArchivLink gedacht.

Für den BDN/BDS gibt es keine Start-Transaktion. Es wird erwartet, dass der Zugang durch die Integration in anderweitige Anwendungen oder Module erfolgt.

HTML Mails - Bilder in Signaturen einbetten oder verlinken?

Für Kunden, die Wert auf das Corporate Design legen, stellt sich die Frage, wie Bilder in die E-Mail eingebettet werden sollen. Meist ist das in der Signatur ein Thema.

E-Mail-Signatur – Bilder einbetten

Wenn ein Bild in die E-Mail einbettet wird, entsteht ein internes, eingebettetes Element. Hin und wieder werden durch diese Technik Spamfilter ausgelöst, die E-Mails werden irrtümlicherweise mit Anhang angezeigt, oder die E-Mail wird ohne Bild dargestellt. Das ist natürlich nicht so schön.

E-Mail-Signatur – Bilder verlinken

Verlinkt man das Bild in der E-Mail-Signatur, ist es auf einem Webserver gespeichert. Technisch gesehen ist das Bild nicht Bestandteil der E-Mail-Signatur. Was die visuelle Darstellung betrifft, sollte der Empfänger der E-Mail keinen Unterschied bemerken. Es ist natürlich wichtig, dass diese URL stets gültig ist. Ansonsten sieht der Empfänger an dieser Stelle ein rotes Kreuz.

Wir empfehlen prinzipiell Bilder auf eine URL zu verlinken und nicht in die E-Mail einzubetten.

Können E-Mails verschlüsselt werden?

E-Mails können mit Hilfe des S/MIME-Standards signiert und verschlüsselt werden. Das ist ab SAP BASIS 7.31 SP2 möglich. In niedrigeren Releaseständen können gesicherte Nachrichten über den Secure E-Mail-Proxy gesendet werden. Alternativ kann die Verschlüsselung über den SMTP Server erfolgen.

  • MailCenter
  • SAP Mail Software
  • MailCenter Outlook
  • SAP Outlook Integration Software
  • Archiv Add-In
  • SAP Mail Archivierung Software
  • SMS Add-In
  • SMS Kurznachrichten aus SAP