What is SAP Adobe Forms?

SAP Adobe Forms – Since 2002, SAP AG has had a strategic partnership with Adobe. Starting with SAP NetWeaver 2004 (SAP Web AS 6.40), the new FORM technology SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe is available in addition to SAPScript and Smart Forms. The tool as such is officially called SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe, even if it is partly used in pure print scenarios. This technology was originally intended to replace the SAPScript and SAP Smart Forms technologies. Unlike SAPScript, ADOBE strictly separates data from layout. Although new PDF forms have been delivered with each enhancement package in the Business Suite, these technologies now exist.

sap adobe forms lifecyle designer

sap adobe forms lifecyle designer

SAP Smart Forms vs. SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe

Smart Forms vs. Adobe – The Adobe Form Development approach is based on SAP Smart Forms. This makes it easier for developers to switch. Note 1009567 describes the functional differences between SAP Smart Forms and the SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe. As a prerequisite, we need the JAVA stack. It doesn’t matter if interactive forms are used or not. A web service converts the SOAP call to a PDF document. The call can be made from an ABAP program, POSTMAN or other programs. You can no longer use ABAP nodes in the Adobe form. There is a so-called context for this. The relevant design time tools are interface, context, layout, and form template. This makes the interface (ABAP, XML, or Smart Forms) the only part that still plays out in ABAP. Because there is no abAP in the form anymore. The form refers exactly to an interface. Smart Forms forms have the option of switching to the new technology at run time.

Benefits of Adobe Forms

  • PDF as standard (note: also works with SAPScript and Smart Forms)
  • Life Cyle Designer easy to use (Note: matter of taste)
  • Design forms in accordance with accessibility guidelines
  • Use TrueType fonts, no upload required (Note: This is very good)
  • Interactive scenarios possible

When do we take what?

Now we come to the decision between Smart Forms and Adobe Forms. When do we use what? Basically, there are simple rules of thumb. Adobe for graphically demanding things, accessibility or PDF/A-2. When not to use: Mass printing scenario > 100,000 operations (http call and XML data slow slower the system); see also notes on restrictions 894389, 735050, 852235. Adobe is platform-independent. As a result, there is no longer any printer-specific control (shaft control). Converting Smart Forms to Adobe is problematic.

How much does Adobe Forms cost?

Cost – Please read note 750784. In summary, there are no additional licensing costs for the use of the components for design and the mere issuance of the forms. Only for interactive forms we need licenses. Of course, we also need a reader to display the forms. This is what Adobe is all about. The Adobe LiveCycle Designer for form development is free.

SAP Adobe Forms Installation

Requirements ADOBE

To work with SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe, you need Adobe Document Services (ADS) and Adobe LiveCyle Designer. Adobe Document Services are integrated into the Netweaver Java.Application Server. The architecture is more complex than SAPScript and Smart Forms due to the integration of external Adobe services. The central transaction for processing the forms is transaction SFP (transaction SMARTFORMS for Smart Forms and transaction SE71 for SAPScript).

Server – Installation Adobe ADS

Adobe Document Services is like an add-on. It is an application on an SAP JAVA system. THE ADS Services are the server component of the application. Excursus: Originally, SAP had 3 different system types:

  1. ABAP – ERP, BW, Netweaver GRC, IDES, S/4HANA, SRM
  2. JAVA – Portals, SAP PI, SAP PO, SAP Netweaver, ADS
  3. ABAP + JAVA – Solution Managers, CRM – so-called dual stacks

Later, SAP said dual stacks are obsolete from Netweaver 7.4. They are now split and installed separately if necessary. Now there are only ABAP or JAVA systems. Unfortunately, it is not possible to install the ADS on an existing ABAP system. In any case, you need to install your own JAVA system:

  • own database, data files, logfiles
  • own SID and instance number, ports
  • must be stopped/started yourself, have backups
  • connect to the SAP Netweaver Administrator via the portal: http://hostname:500/nwa

It does not count on which server it is installed. There just needs to be enough memory, CPU and disk space available. You use SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe as a print form and want to use PDF/A-2b or PDF/A-3b as the output format. This functionality requires Adobe Document Services ADS NW750 ADS SP-5 or later. In addition, you and the corresponding Netweaver Base and Support Package version.

  • SAP BASIS 7.31 SP20 / 7.40 SP16 / 7.50 SP05 / 7.51 SP01
sap ads

sap ads

Client – Installation Adobe LiveCycle Designer

The Adobe LiveCycle Designer is a dedicated tool that the form designers use to create the forms. However, the form structure is similar to the structure of SMART Forms. The essential elements of the forms are static and dynamic building blocks. In addition, there are so-called tables. In any case, the LiveCycle Designer is installed locally. It is a front-end application. This is well integrated into the SAP GUI. It can also be operated standalone. The higher the version of the designer, the more functionalities are available. Therefore, it is recommended that you always install the latest version of Adobe LiveCycle Designer on your PC. You will receive it free of charge on the SAP Market Place service.

The Adobe LiveCycle Designer is operated within transaction SFP. In transaction SFP, he closely interacts with the SAP context and the SAP interface.

Adobe Performance Aspects and Installation Check

Due to the complexity of installing and exchanging XML data streams, special attention needs to be paid to performance. This is, of course, especially true for the use of large amounts of data. Checking the ADS RFC connection via transaction SM59.

SAP Adobe Forms Training

SAP offers the following courses:

BC480 – PDF-Based Print Forms

Create print forms using the SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe Forms tool. Learn how to integrate them with ABAP application programs. This course provides basic knowledge of print scenarios. No application details nor Customizing details handled.

  • Overview of the architecture of PDF-based print forms
  • Form interface
  • Adobe LiveCycle Designer • Integration of forms into ABAP programs
  • Additional functionality of PDF-based forms
  • Manage PDF-based forms
  • Migration of older forms

BC481 – Interactive Forms

You will learn how to create interactive forms. You will deal with both offline form scenarios and online form scenarios. You will learn to implement scripting based on JavaScript.

  • Use JavaScript as the scripting language in interactive forms
  • Send and receive forms by e-mail
  • Download, upload and analyze forms
  • Extract the XML content of offline forms using the DOM table and inbound handler technique

BC 482 – SAP PDF Forms Workshop

You’ll learn how to find standard print programs and forms. Learn how to analyze, debug, and customize them. In any case, the course covers details about application programs, also known as form printing programs. In addition, you will learn how to handle spool jobs, print bulk data, bundle, parallelize, and send e-mail.

  • Requirements for form design and possible implementation with scripting (FormCalc and JavaScript)
  • Find, analyze, and debug standard scenarios
  • Adaptation of two standard forms with SAP Adobe Forms to customer needs (invoice and packing slip)

Notes ADOBE Forms

Here we have collected some important hints about Adobe Forms. For more information, please refer to the respective notice. You can find them via the SAP portal under service.sap.com.

Notes
NumberDescription
750784SAP Interactive Forms: Licenses
834573SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe: Acrobat/Reader version
1861606Adobe Reader XI new features0
1009567Functional differences SAP Interactive Forms/Smart Forms
894389Sharing Restrictions: SAP NW 7.0 – Adobe Document Services
735050Output of forms (modified)
852235Release Restrictions for SAP ERP 6.0
2347809IFbA: Extension of supported PDF/A formats
2783795eDocument EU PEPPOL: Installation Overview
894389Sharing Restrictions: SAP NW 7.0 – Adobe Document Services

SAP Forms

SAP Adobe Forms

  • Outlook Integration
  • SAP Outlook Integration Software
  • Mail Archiving
  • SAP Mail Archiving Software
  • SMS from SAP
  • SMS Short Messages from SAP

Was ist SAP Adobe Forms?

SAP Adobe Forms – Seit dem Jahr 2002 gibt es eine strategische Partnerschaft zwischen SAP AG und Adobe. Ab SAP NetWeaver 2004 (SAP Web AS 6.40) steht neben SAPScript und Smart Forms die neue Formulartechnologie SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe zur Verfügung. Das Tool als solches heißt offiziell SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe, auch wenn es zum Teil in reinen Druckszenarien verwendet wird. Diese Technologie war ursprünglich dafür gedacht, um die Technologien SAPScript und SAP Smart Forms abzulösen. Im Gegensatz zu SAPScript trennt ADOBE strikt zwischen Daten und Layout. Obwohl mit jedem Enhancementpackage der Business Suite neue PDF Formulare ausgeliefert worden sind, existiert heute eine Koexistenz diese Technologien.

sap adobe forms lifecyle designer

sap adobe forms lifecyle designer

SAP Smart Forms vs. SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe

Smart Forms vs. Adobe – Die Vorgehensweise für die Adobe Formular Entwicklung ist an SAP Smart Forms angelehnt. Das erleichtert Entwicklern den Umstieg. Im Hinweis 1009567 sind die funktionalen Differenten zwischen SAP Smart Forms und den SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe beschrieben. Als Voraussetzung benötigen wir den JAVA Stack. Dabei ist es egal, ob interaktive Formulare verwendet werden oder nicht. Ein Webservice konvertiert den SOAP Aufruf in ein PDF Dokument. Der Aufruf kann aus einem ABAP Programm, dem POSTMAN oder anderen Programmen erfolgen. Im Adobe Formular lassen sich keine ABAP Knoten mehr verwenden. Dafür gibt es den sogenannten Kontext. Die relevanten Tools zur Design-Zeit sind Schnittstelle, Kontext, Layout und Formularvorlage. Damit ist die Schnittstelle (ABAP, XML oder Smart Forms) der einzige Teil, der sich noch in ABAP abspielt. Denn im Formular gibt es kein ABAP mehr. Das Formular verweist genau auf eine Schnittstelle. Für Smart Forms Formulare besteht die Möglichkeit, zur Laufzeit in die neue Technologie zu wechseln.

Vorteile Adobe Forms

  • PDF als Standard (Anmerkung: geht aber auch mit SAPScript und Smart Forms)
  • Life Cyle Designer leicht zu bedienen (Anmerkung: Geschmackssache)
  • Formulare gemäß den Richtlinien zur Barrierefreiheit gestalten
  • TrueType-Schriftarten verwenden, kein Upload erforderlich (Anmerkung: Das ist sehr gut)
  • Interaktive Szenarien möglich

Wann nehmen wir was?

Jetzt kommen wir zur Entscheidung zwischen Smart Forms und Adobe Forms. Wann verwenden wir was? Im Grunde gibt es einfache Faustregeln. Adobe bei grafisch anspruchsvollen Dingen, Barrierefreiheit oder PDF/A-2. Wann nicht verwenden: Massendruckszenario > 100.000 Vorgänge (Http Call und XML-Daten mach das System langsamer); siehe auch Hinweise zu Einschränkungen 894389, 735050, 852235. Adobe ist plattformunabhängig. Damit gibt es keine druckerspezifische Steuerung mehr (Schachtsteuerung). Die Konvertierung von Smart Forms nach Adobe ist problematisch.

Was kostet Adobe Forms?

Kosten – Hierzu lesen Sie bitte den Hinweis 750784. Zusammenfassend lässt sich Folgendes sagen: Prinzipiell fallen für die Benutzung der Komponenten für Design und die reine Ausgabe der Formulare keine zusätzlichen Lizenzkosten an. Erst für interaktive Formulare benötigen wir Lizenzen. Natürlich brauchen wir für die Anzeige der Formulare  auch einen Reader. Dafür bietet sich der von Adobe an. Der Adobe LiveCycle Designer zur Formularentwicklung ist kostenlos.

SAP Adobe Forms Installation

Voraussetzungen ADOBE

Um mit SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe zu arbeiten, benötigen Sie die Adobe Document Services (ADS) sowie den Adobe LiveCyle Designer. Die Adobe Document Services sind in den Netweaver Java.Applikationsserver integriert. Dabei ist die Architektur aufgrund der Integration der externen Adobe Services komplexer als bei SAPScript und Smart Forms. Die zentrale Transaktion für die Bearbeitung der Formulare ist die Transaktion SFP (Transaktion SMARTFORMS für Smart Forms und Transaktion SE71 für SAPScript).

Server – Installation Adobe ADS

Adobe Document Services ist wie ein Add-on. Es ist eine Applikation auf einem SAP JAVA System. Die ADS Services bilden die Serverkomponente der Anwendung. Exkurs: Ursprünglich gab es bei der SAP 3 verschiedene Systemtypen:

  1. ABAP – ERP, BW, Netweaver GRC, IDES, S/4HANA, SRM
  2. JAVA – Portals, SAP PI, SAP PO, SAP Netweaver, ADS
  3. ABAP + JAVA – Solution Managers, CRM – sogenannte Dual-Stacks

Später hat die SAP gesagt, Dual-Stacks sind ab Netweaver 7.4 obsolete. Sie werden jetzt gesplittet und gegebenenfalls separat installiert. Jetzt gibt es nur ABAP oder JAVA Systeme. Leider ist eine Installation des ADS auf einem existierenden ABAP System ist nicht möglich. In jedem Fall müssen Sie ein eigenes JAVA System installieren:

  • eigene Datenbank, Datafiles, Logfiles
  • eigene SID und Instanznummer, Ports
  • muss selber gestoppt/gestartet werden, Backups haben
  • man verbinden sich über das Portal zum SAP Netweaver Administrator: http://hostname:500/nwa

Es zählt nicht auf welchem Server es installiert wird. Es muss nur genug Speicher, CPU und Plattenplatz zur Verfügung stehen. Sie benutzen SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe als Druckformular und möchten PDF/A-2b oder PDF/A-3b als Ausgabeformat verwenden. Für diese Funktionalität benötigen Sie Adobe Document Services ADS NW750 ADS SP-5 oder höher. Zusätzlich benötigen Sie und die entsprechende Netweaver Basis und Support Package Version.

  • SAP BASIS 7.31 SP20 / 7.40 SP16 / 7.50 SP05 / 7.51 SP01
sap ads

sap ads

Client – Installation Adobe LiveCycle Designer

Der Adobe LiveCycle Designer ist ein eigenes Werkzeug, mit dem die Formulardesigner die Formulare erstellen. Jedoch ähnelt die Formularstruktur der Struktur von SMART Forms. Dabei sind die wesentlichen Elemente der Formulare statische und dynamische Bausteine. Zusätzlich gibt es sogenannte Tabellen. In jedem Fall wird der LiveCycle Designer lokal installiert. Es handelt sich um eine Frontend Applikation. Diese ist gut in den SAP GUI integriert. Sie kann auch standalone betrieben werden. Je höher die Version vom Designer ist, umso mehr Funktionalitäten stehen zur Verfügung. Daher ist es empfehlenswert stets die neueste Version vom Adobe LiveCycle Designer auf dem PC zu installieren. Sie erhalten diesen kostenlos auf dem Service Market Place der SAP.

Der Adobe LiveCycle Designer wird innerhalb der Transaktion SFP bedient. Dabei interagiert er in der Transaktion SFP eng mit dem SAP-Kontext und der SAP-Schnittstelle.

Adobe Performance Aspekte und Installationscheck

Aufgrund der Komplexität der Installation und dem Austausch von XML Datenströmen muss ein besonderes Augenmerk auf die Performance gelegt werden. Das gilt natürlich speziell für die Verwendung von großen Datenmengen. Prüfung der ADS RFC Verbindung über die Transaktion SM59.

SAP Adobe Forms Schulung

Die SAP biete folgende Kurse an:

BC480 – PDF-Based Print Forms

Erstellen Sie Druckformulare mit dem Tool SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe Formulare. Lernen Sie, wie Sie diese in ABAP-Anwendungsprogramme integrieren. In diesem Kurs werden Grundkenntnisse zu Druckszenarien vermittelt. Keine Anwendungsdetails noch Customizing-Details behandelt.

  • Überblick über die Architektur von PDF-basierten Druckformularen
  • Formularschnittstelle
  • Adobe LiveCycle Designer • Integration von Formularen in ABAP-Programme
  • Zusätzliche Funktionalität von PDF-basierten Formularen
  • PDF-basierte Formulare verwalten
  • Migration älterer Formulare

BC481 – Interactive Forms

Sie lernen die Erstellung interaktiver Formulare. Dabei beschäftigen Sie sich sowohl mit Offline-Formularszenarien wie auch mit Online-Formularszenarien. Sie lernen Scripting basierend auf JavaScript implementieren.

  • Verwenden Sie JavaScript als Skriptsprache in interaktiven Formularen
  • Senden und Empfangen von Formularen per E-Mail
  • Formulare herunterladen, hochladen und analysieren
  • Extrahieren Sie den XML-Inhalt von Offline-Formularen mithilfe der DOM-Tabelle und der Inbound-Handler-Technik

BC 482 – SAP PDF-Forms Workshop

Sie lernen, wie Sie Standarddruckprogramme und Formulare finden. Sie erfahren, wie Sie diese analysieren, debuggen und anpassen. In jedem Fall behandelt der Kurs Details zu Anwendungsprogrammen, die auch als Druckprogramme von Formularen bezeichnet werden. Zusätzlich lernen Sie den Umgang mit Spool-Aufträgen, Drucken von Massendaten, Bündeln, Parallelisieren sowie den E-Mail-Versand.

  • Anforderungen an die Formulargestaltung und mögliche Implementierung mit Scripting (FormCalc und JavaScript)
  • Suchen, Analysieren und Debuggen von Standardszenarien
  • Anpassung von zwei Standardformularen mit SAP Adobe Forms an Kundenbedürfnisse (Rechnung und Lieferschein)

Hinweise ADOBE Forms

Hier haben wir einige wichtige Hinweise zum Thema Adobe Forms gesammelt. Weitere Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte dem jeweiligen Hinweis. Sie finden diese über das Portal der SAP unter service.sap.com.

Hinweise
NummerBeschreibung
750784SAP Interactive Forms: Lizenzen
834573SAP Interactive Forms by Adobe: Acrobat/Reader version
1861606Adobe Reader XI new features0
1009567Functional differences SAP Interactive Forms/Smart Forms
894389Freigabeeinschränkungen: SAP NW 7.0 – Adobe Document Services
735050Ausgabe von Formularen (geändert)
852235Freigabeeinschränkungen für SAP ERP 6.0
2347809IFbA: Erweiterung der unterstützten PDF/A-Formate
2783795eDocument EU PEPPOL: Installation Overview
894389Freigabeeinschränkungen: SAP NW 7.0 – Adobe Document Services

SAP Formulare


MailCenter

SAP Mail